Reviews

Wonderful

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: February 2018

Everyone has their own idea of what perfect is, and… Casa Ladera is my perfect vacation spot! This was our 6th year staying at the property and it gets better every time.

Thank you, Mark, Keith, Patty and Ivan

Great location, beautiful property, very helpful owners

4 stars out of 5
Stayed: January 2018

Our group of 8 really enjoyed our stay at Casa Ladera. We spent a lot of our time in the several outdoor areas around the pool. I would highly recommend the Welcome Fiesta (the guacamole & pico de gallo were amazing!) and at least one meal prepared at the house (we had delicious chili rellenos).

Overall, a great vacation experience. I’d definitely stay at Casa Ladera again.

Toby, Location, and Private                                     

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: December 2017

What an excellent stay my husband and I had with Casa Ladera! We especially were delighted by the location, private pool, proximity to the beach, and incredible, private and well appointed spaces. Thanks to Toby, the dog, for his welcome and hospitality along with his dads. We hope to stay here again very soon! Jak

Fantastic

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: December 2017

We had the most amazing time here and have nothing but wonderful things to say about this villa and our trip. We were a group of 9 and stayed for a week just before christmas. The house was lovely, great rooms, great pool, great views, great location. We loved the staff- Patti and Ivan, and the five excellent meals they prepared for our group. The recommendations and support by the owners was fantastic. We hope to come back to this villa next year

Spacious, Charming, and Close to the Beach!

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: November 2017

When you stay in Puerto Vallarta, be sure to follow these 3 rules …

  1. Always stay in La Zona Romantica.
  2. If going with a group, ALWAYS rent a house.
  3. Make sure that house has a view of the bay.

Now that you know the way to enjoy PV properly, keep Casa Ladera on your short list. The affordably-priced property has a nice view of the peak of the bay and the famous cathedral, while still being extremely close to the beach (We found four quick routes to our favorite beach clubs). What is most stunning about the property is all of the spacious terraces. There are three outdoor dining spots– we didn’t even use the indoor dining room. When a PV property is done right, the outdoor and indoor spaces flow together well, and Casa Ladera does so seamlessly. The staff are incredibly friendly and will cook breakfast upon request — I strongly recommend the chilaquiles. The layout is smart– all the bedrooms sit far from the entertaining areas, so people napping won’t be disturbed by the folks frolicking in the pool.

Don’t miss standing at the edge of the terrace, looking back, and getting a dramatic view of the jungle that climbs up the hills of the Romantic Zone.

If you book, decide your best route to the beach. I’ll go over four of them. Know that Casa Ladera is incredibly close to Playa de los Muertos, home of beach clubs Mantamar (the hotel right across from Casa Ladera), Blue chairs/green chairs, and the Sapphire Beach club. We always spend our days at the beach. All of the clubs have a daily fee for chairs and umbrella. Blue Chairs and “the club with the green chairs” are more congested and cater to a mostly gay crowd. Mantamar does as well but is much less congested. Sapphire Club is a mixed crowd, and although there are sometimes families there, it feels sophisticated and quiet.

Beach access: If you want steps instead of inclines, one set of steps lies just to the left of the upper entrance to Hotel Mantamar, right across the street from Casa Ladera. A second set of steps can be found about fifty paces down the road. Both lead you directly to the beach, close to Mantamar. You can take the road for a slight longer route, and that takes you directly to the street entrance of the Sapphire Beach Club. When returning to Casa Ladera, we discovered the elevator inside Hotel Mantamar, saving us the walk. Get off at floor ten and you are at the lobby level, cross the street and you are home.

Enjoy your stay!

Perfect House

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: November 2017

A group of 8 of us stayed at this wonderful house. The location is amazing. Couldn’t ask for a better spot. The service was great

Casa Ladera is a perfect home for a big family to enjoy yet still have some privacy.

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: November 2017

All 10 members of my family absolutely loved our week at Casa Ladera. The location is perfect for the beach, town for shopping and the Malecon. We combined eating at some of our favorite restaurants with staying home and cooking ourselves or having the housekeeper cook her delicious recipes. The kitchen is totally complete with all you would need for 3 meals a day. We especially enjoyed the open rooms of the house which allowed us to enjoy the views and wildlife of the Puerto Vallarta mountains

Outstanding Villa

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: Aug 2017

Outstanding Villa…! Just blocks to the beach. The villa is on a hill, but there are stairs (lots of them) to the beach, but that did not bother us. Once on the beach, it is an easy stroll to the pier. Mark’s Villa is extremely clean and well kept. The pool and patio is where we hung out most of the time, plenty of seating and great areas to gather. All of the utensils, coffee pot, blender, etc. needed for cooking are in the kitchen, a little older but very functional. All of the bedrooms have private baths and air conditioning. The staff is incredible, taking care of everything needed. Cleaned everyday, except Sunday. They even did a couple of loads of laundry for us! The Villa is right across the street from Almar Resort. They have 24 hour security staff, so we felt vey safe. Taxis are plentiful, right outside the property. Communication with Mark was easy and very responsive. All in all…a great time in this outstanding Villa. We will be back!!!” Kenn & Family

Spotless and Gorgeous

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: Jul 2017

Marks place was spotless, gorgeous and is set in an amazing location. Each morning we would wake up and go swimming in the most relaxing crystal clear pool overlooking the beach. Breakfast is optional and I highly suggest you take an advantage of that benefit at least a couple mornings. Daily maid service was also a plus. Thank you Mark for a great vacation.

Pure Mexican Charm

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: Feb 2017

There are no strangers at Casa Ladera, only new friends who’ll make you feel part of the family. Our group of 8 stayed for the week. From the moment you crest the top step the panoramic view will carry away your stress. You’re on vacation and everything’s gonna be all right. Each of the four separate bedrooms has it’s own private bathroom. The kitchen and living room are open to the patio, pool and ultimately, the view. There’s even an extra bathroom and shower for the pool area. Mark is a wonderful host, providing all kinds of information and tips ahead of time to make your stay more memorable. After we arrived, we appreciated that he took the time to check in on us a few times. The housekeeper Patricia and groundskeeper Ivan were remarkable as well. We had them prepare a traditional breakfast for us and it was outstanding. We also enjoyed a home-cooked dinner who’s memory won’t fade any time soon.

Wonderful Place to Call Home For the Week

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: Feb 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Casa Ladera. Our group (a mix of couples and singles) have been coming to Vallarta for years. And with the incredible rate of construction, redevelopment and modernization going on around every corner these days, it’s getting more and more difficult to find group lodging that reflects some of that traditional Old Vallarta charm. We found what we were looking for this year at Casa Ladera. Loved the location. Spacious single-level layout. Great flow. Well-appointed. Charmingly decorated. Wonderful heated pool. Friendly staff. Owner Mark could not have been easier to work with from our first communication to a post-visit follow-up. We opted to have breakfast and dinner prepared for us four of seven days. Patti can cook! Loved every meal. And easily accommodated some special dietary needs within our group. You cannot go wrong with a stay at Casa Ladera.

Fabulous Home, Exceptional Owners!!

5 stars out of 5
Stayed: Nov 2016

Casa Ladera is a gorgeous villa located right in the heart of Puerto Vallarta. We rented the villa for a family of six (including 4 “twenty-somethings”) over the Thanksgiving week and we could not have had a more wonderful experience. The central location meant each of us had complete freedom to do whatever we wanted to do whenever we wanted to do it! The beach, the bars, the restaurants, the shops, the Malecon, the flea market, etc. were so convenient and accessible! Of course, Puerto Vallarta is quite hilly, the streets are cobblestone and the sidewalks are uneven. The walk to and from Casa Ladera is no exception and could be a consideration for people with physical limitations or who just don’t like to get exercise!
The house itself is very open and beautiful (huge wooden doors open on three sides of the main living area), with a pretty view of the bay and the nightly fireworks show from the pool area. Each of the four spacious bedrooms (also equipped with huge wooden doors) has its own beautiful bathroom, plus there is an extra bathroom with a shower for pool or guest use. The whole place is very comfortably furnished with classy and interesting pieces, and the kitchen is very nicely equipped if you choose to do any cooking. We went to the fish market and got fresh fish for our last night, which we rounded out with all the leftovers from the week-fantastic!)
Upon arrival, the house was fully stocked with all of the groceries, beers, etc. that I had requested PLUS guacamole, salsa and margaritas all made and ready in the fridge!. Additionally, Patricia and Ivan prepared a yummy breakfast daily which was a most delicious and special treat! We only had them prepare dinner one night, which was also fantastic, because we really wanted to check out the restaurant scene (so many great choices). Patricia made up all the rooms as well each day with fresh linens and towels.
Lastly, the owners, Mark and Keith, are so helpful, kind and considerate! They know the area really well and are generous with advice if you request it. Two of my sons had very late flights out on the last day (one at 6 pm and one at 11 pm) and, since it turned out no one was checking in that day, Mark and Keith let them use the house for the entire time so they wouldn’t be homeless and/or we wouldn’t have to rent a hotel room for the day. I can’t even begin to express how much we appreciated that kindness!
Cheers! We will definitely be back to this beautiful home!

Beautfiul villa – perfect for our group!

5 stars out of 5
Stayed:Mar 2016

We visited Casa Ladera with a multi-generational family group of three married couples, four young adults, and three children, using all four of the rooms in the home, as well as one of the studio apartments. The home worked so well for this situation. Mark, Keith, Patricia, and Ivan took wonderful care of us. If only we could have stayed longer than a week!

The home: Gracious, with ideal indoor-outdoor living via huge wooden doors that can be thrown open to the perfect weather. Small and refreshing pool, classy decor, well-stocked kitchen. Wi-fi spotty in interior areas–to be expected with concrete construction. My favorite spots were the huge outdoor table covered by a palapa umbrella, the living room–open on three sides to the outdoors, and the cushioned pool lounge.

Staff: Attentive to guests and to details. Rooms were cleaned nicely each day. We hired Pati and Ivan for several meals—the food and the service were outstanding. For a couple of meals our group of 13 increased to 18, and they handled it ably. Highlights included a huge bowl of ceviche, carne asada from the grill, whole fish, chiles rellenos, chilaquiles, and a tres leches cake procured for my husband’s birthday. Plentiful leftovers made for tasty lunches and snacks throughout our stay.

Location: convenient to beach, shops, and restaurants, with a lovely view (even if some of it is *through* an under-construction hotel). I love walking and exploring the city, and this is a great location for that. Of course the area is hilly, with many steps, including a nearby long staircase to Los Muertos beach. Taxis are plentiful and the bus can be caught nearby.

The whole process and all communication was smooth from start to finish, making for a relaxing vacation. We will not hesitate to return to Casa Ladera!

Simply Fabulous!

5 stars out of 5
Stayed:Mar 2016

Casa Ladera was by far the best place our group had ever stayed at in Puerto Vallarta. We had four couples. No worries here about tripping over one another. The whole place is so open and spacious with a gorgeous view of the bay and PV. Like most places in PV, it is some walking and steps to town and beaches but so worth that minor inconvenience. Be sure to have the housekeeper make you a meal early on in your stay. Our group waited until the last night. She fixed so much of everything including freshly made margaritas to her mouthwatering dessert. We had so many leftovers and it was our last evening. Have a dinner early in the week for plenty of leftovers during your stay. You won’t be disappointed with your meal. The owner is very friendly and accessible should you need anything. I highly recommend Cass Ladera!

Loved it and plan on going back again!

5 stars out of 5
Stayed:Dec 2015

This is our fourth year going to Puerto Vallarta and this is our favorite place to stay yet. We are definitely considering rebooking for next year and can’t wait to go back.